The effects of an arrest and criminal charges can have long-lasting, expensive consequences on a
person’s life. Learn valuable information from a defense attorney in Austin.
Reckless or careless behavior can have consequences, and if you have caused the death of another person as a result of your careless behavior, you can be charged with a crime. Even if your intention was not to cause their death, you could be facing manslaughter charges in Texas as a result.
Are you or someone you know facing a manslaughter charge in Texas? If so, contact Texas criminal defense attorney Jason S. English now. He will fight for you to keep you out of jail, uphold your rights, and ensure your record is clear of any manslaughter charges.
Manslaughter In Texas
According to Texas Penal Code Section 19.04, the definition of manslaughter is when “A person commits an offense if he recklessly causes the death of an individual. (b) An offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.”
Difference between Manslaughter and Murder
Intention comes into play regarding the distinction between a manslaughter or murder charge. If the accused did not intend to kill another person, but they died due to the accused’s reckless conduct, this could result in a manslaughter charge.
Penalties for Manslaughter in Texas
In Texas, manslaughter is considered a second-degree felony, and some penalties may include: a state prison sentence between two and 20 years; and a fine of up to $10,000.
Once a person has served their sentence and paid any fines for their manslaughter conviction, there are still consequences they will need to face due to this felony conviction. These consequences can impact the remainder of a person’s life due to the restrictions and limitations of their rights. Some of these are:
- Challenges in obtaining housing
- Challenges in securing employment
- Firearm ownership is now illegal
- Restrictions regarding certain professions
- Restrictions on holding certain offices
- Restrictions on voting
Vehicular Manslaughter in Texas
You can be charged with intoxication manslaughter in Texas if your drunk driving results in a fatal accident. According to Texas Penal Code Section 49.08, the definition of Intoxication Manslaughter is: “(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
- operates a motor vehicle in a public place, operates an aircraft, a watercraft, or an amusement ride, or assembles a mobile amusement ride; and
- is intoxicated and by reason of that intoxication causes the death of another by accident or mistake.
(b) Except as provided by Section 49.09, an offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.”
Since intoxication manslaughter is also a felony of the second degree, penalties will be similar to those of a traditional manslaughter. Other penalties could include having your driver license suspended and being required to seek treatment for substance abuse.
If a firefighter or emergency medical services personnel are killed due to your DWI accident, you will be looking at a felony in the first-degree charge. In Texas, penalties might include a state prison sentence between five and 99 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Austin Criminal Defense Attorney
As someone who prosecuted cases for over 15 years, criminal defense attorney Jason S. English has a unique perspective on how a prosecutor will handle a felony criminal case. He knows their game plan to get a guilty plea from you and can help you understand what rights and options you have before pleading guilty and fighting any criminal charge.
In Texas, if you are facing a manslaughter charge, contact Texas criminal defense lawyer Jason S. English right away by calling (512) 454-7548 or reach him online. Your constitutional rights may be at stake, and Jason S. English has the criminal defense background in Texas to help you fight this manslaughter charge.
Why Choose Jason S. English Law, PLLC?
Please type your message below and we will get back to you asap.